|
|
| Author |
Message |
Captain Kirk none

Joined: 19 Jun 2004 Posts: 13 Location: USA
|
Posted: Dec 22, 2004 12:34am Post subject: Anyone else getting shafted by servers@mirc.com? |
|
|
Is it just me, or is servers@mirc.com very selective when choosing what networks to include in mIRC's servers.ini file? It doesn't seem that network size makes a big difference, I see ~50 person networks listed, as well as the much larger ones. Several times over the past year, I've carefully filled out the requested information and fired off my submission. Each time a new servers.ini rolls, the network I help run, never seems to be listed. Do they just chuck out random networks?
So on that thought, has anyone else been shafted in this way? If so, did you pursue it (and were you successful)?
Thanks! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Plasma Newbie

Joined: 10 Dec 2003 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Dec 22, 2004 1:39am Post subject: |
|
|
I dont know if my nets been added, Ive had no reply/response or anything.
Just make sure you formatted the email as specified on the 'how to send me new servers' page (its there somewhere), otherwise he just deletes the email. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Captain Kirk none

Joined: 19 Jun 2004 Posts: 13 Location: USA
|
Posted: Dec 22, 2004 1:49am Post subject: |
|
|
| Plasma wrote: | I dont know if my nets been added, Ive had no reply/response or anything.
Just make sure you formatted the email as specified on the 'how to send me new servers' page (its there somewhere), otherwise he just deletes the email. |
Yep, I've done it the exact way it's specified. No luck. New INI was released recently, did he add your network? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
anima none

Joined: 10 Aug 2004 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Dec 22, 2004 3:32am Post subject: |
|
|
They surely are selective. Either they get paid by those networks, or they take the biggest. I remember asking if they could add my old 300-user-wide network, and I got no answer  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
[DiMENSiON] Eleet

Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 670
|
Posted: Dec 22, 2004 6:28am Post subject: |
|
|
| Who knows why they don't add some but do add others, seems completely random to me, personally i wouldn't submit.. there is no gain to it, appart from being on the list of spam bots. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
phrozen77 Newbie

Joined: 13 Jul 2004 Posts: 98 Location: There!! A 3-headed monkey, right behind you!
|
Posted: Dec 22, 2004 11:22am Post subject: |
|
|
| absolutely same experience here, contacted them at that mail-address, submitted the network i oper on (was at around 600 users at that point) in the right format, never got any response nor did they add the network to the list, also checked when the update was done lately... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Willaim Idler

Joined: 27 Jun 2003 Posts: 321 Location: IRC
|
Posted: Dec 22, 2004 8:07pm Post subject: |
|
|
| I submitted a 300 user network and got added, but submitted a 20-40 user one and never got added. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Plasma Newbie

Joined: 10 Dec 2003 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Dec 22, 2004 8:36pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mine got added (bittahIRC) and is only around 150-200 user network (for a community)
I sent in the request like 6 months ago though, so maybe it takes a while  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Nneel none

Joined: 12 Oct 2003 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Jan 30, 2005 12:32am Post subject: criteria |
|
|
| Willaim wrote: | | I submitted a 300 user network and got added, but submitted a 20-40 user one and never got added. |
dear willaim..its nice that ur listed...as i reading tehir systems...user limit is not a big deal to them..... they want the real information..what ever it is about the network.....i read...and i stopped my self to apply for that...
will u plz share ur knowledge & experience..with us......whats ur speicality..or exactly what to u follow for that..
thnx
Nneel.
irc.golpo.net |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
v3|0c17y Eleet

Joined: 28 Jan 2005 Posts: 650
|
Posted: Jan 30, 2005 1:23am Post subject: |
|
|
| they are quite selective, or the requests just get deleted, i know nets from friends who have been up for almost 2-3 years and have sent emails several times, still not listed. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Willaim Idler

Joined: 27 Jun 2003 Posts: 321 Location: IRC
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
[DiMENSiON] Eleet

Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 670
|
Posted: Jan 30, 2005 2:43pm Post subject: |
|
|
| As i stated previously, there is no advamtage to being listed on the servers.ini . it does not make your network any more legitimate. You just get added to some spambots lists.. waste of time boys and girls. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Willaim Idler

Joined: 27 Jun 2003 Posts: 321 Location: IRC
|
Posted: Jan 30, 2005 3:09pm Post subject: |
|
|
| I've been on there a few months and haven't seen any bots? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
[DiMENSiON] Eleet

Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 670
|
Posted: Jan 31, 2005 9:47am Post subject: |
|
|
| Wow, i am amazed.. From what i have heard, yuou just get more bots connecting and being pains in the ass... I doubt you have seen any new users because of the listing.. What has anyone listed on the servers.ini gained from it? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
v3|0c17y Eleet

Joined: 28 Jan 2005 Posts: 650
|
Posted: Jan 31, 2005 2:39pm Post subject: |
|
|
| [DiMENSiON] wrote: | | What has anyone listed on the servers.ini gained from it? |
i dont see much of it, there are some nets have been listed for years, and are still small, its just a name in a list, it wont attract users even if it is a catchy network name |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|